Beechwood, Conner, Campbell County All State Names


The Kentucky High School Baseball Coaches Association released its all-state baseball teams on Sunday and there is plenty of representation in Northern Kentucky.

There are four all-state first-team winners among teams whose season ended Saturday in the Kentucky High School Athletic Association State Baseball Quarterfinals.

After: Beechwood and Conner lead baseball honors in all areas of Northern Kentucky

Beechwood had three winners: Juniors Brice Estep, Cameron Boyd and Mitchell Berger.

Estep, the starting catcher, led the Tigers in batting (.486) and RBIs in (56) while managing Beechwood’s pitching staff who allowed less than three runs per game. His RBI total ranked fourth in the state.

Boyd, the right fielder, led Beechwood in home runs with 15, which tied for first in the state with Bowling Green’s Patrick Forbes, who was named Mr. Baseball in the all-state outing .

The team’s leadoff batter also hit .398 with a team-high 56 runs scored and 18 stolen bases, plus 37 RBI which was second to Estep.

Berger was the leading pitcher with a 7-0 record and a 2.51 ERA. He also played center field and hit .413 with six home runs and 37 RBIs.

Beechwood finished 29-7 after losing 1-0 on Saturday to Russell County and All-State First-Team pitcher Cody Luttrell, who threw a four-hit shutout against the Tigers, Beechwood’s only one of the year. The Tigers finished sixth in the latest state coaching poll.

After: The Enquirer’s James Weber bids farewell to the Community Recorders after their final issue.

After: Who are the 2022 Greater Cincinnati High School Athletics State Champions?

Campbell County junior Aydan Hamilton was named the States first team. The University of Kentucky committed to hitting shortstop .490 in 20 games before missing the rest of the season with a hand injury.

Campbell County finished 24-11 this season, winning the 10th region title for the second consecutive season and losing 4-3 to third-placed McCracken County in Saturday’s quarterfinal.

Know senior Gage Testerman was the second team from States.

Testerman, a shortstop, was the Northern Kentucky and Ninth Region Player of the Year after batting .542 with seven home runs, 47 runs scored and 36 stolen bases. He ranked seventh in the state in batting average.

Campbell County senior Greg Vineyard and Conner junior Brody Mangold were the third team from States.

Vineyard, the center and senior fielder, hit .371 with 51 runs scored and 25 steals for quarterfinalist Camels State.

Mangold was the top pitcher in the ninth region, going 8-0 for the Cougars with a 0.53 ERA, which was seventh in the state. He allowed just 28 hits and 22 walks in 53 innings, striking out 70.

He and Testerman led the Cougars 29-7 this season, a school record for wins

Full list of all states

first team: Jack Bennett (McCracken Co), Brody Williams (Lyon Co), Elijah Underhill (Christian Co), Luke Evans (Owensboro Catholic), Patrick Forbes (Bowling Green) as well as Mr. Baseball, Nathan Lawson (Russell Co), Cody Luttrell (Russell Co), Ashton Prechtel (Fern Creek), Korbyn Dickerson (Trinity), Matt Klein (Trinity), Jake Bennett (St. Xavier), Brice Estep (Beechwood), Cameron Boyd (Beechwood), Mitchell Berger (Beechwood)Dalton Davenport (Nicholas Co), Aydan Hamilton (Campbell Co)Raymond Saatman (Sayre), Luke Gaffney (Boyle Co), Brady Morse (Danville), Caden Petrey (Whitley Co), Bryce Blevins (Lawrence Co), Chase Alderman (Rowan Co).

second team: Gage Griggs (Paducah Tilghman), Jackson Shoulders (Lyon Co), Preston Chaudoin (Hopkinsville), Maddox Carlson (Crittenden Co), Isaac Seeger (Breckinridge Co), Zak Spurrier (Central Hardin), Owen Barger (North Bullitt), Ty Starke (St. Xavier), Chase Edmonds (North Oldham), Cole Dycus (Woodford Co), Gauge tester (Conner)Owen Jenkins (Lafayette), Bennett Myers (Franklin Co), Hayden Robbins (Madison Central), Matt Johns (Madison Central), Logan Smother (Danville), Brady Baxter (Danville), Cade Elam (Corbin), Dave Elkins (Perry Co Central), Baron Ratliff (Paintsville), Jake Biggs (Boyd Co), Luke Preston (Boyd Co).

Third team: Levin East (Paducah Tilghman), Cohl Proctor (Breckinridge), Sam McFarland (Owensboro Catholic), Dalton Fiveash (Franklin Simpson), Carson Bryant (Bullitt East), Nolan Hood (Male), Nic Schutte (Male), Robbie Reed ( Trinity), Cooper Smith (St. Xavier), Jack Perdue (Christian Academy of Louisville), Brody MangoldConner, Greg Vineyard (Campbell Co)Malachi Feeback (Harrison Co), Brady Davis (George Rogers Clark), Tanner Walton (George Rogers Clark), Bradley Poynter (Madison Central), Hayden Smith (West Jessamine), Evan Hart (Mercer Co), Cameron Combs (Corbin), Sawyer Patrick (Hazard), Luke Patton (Lawrence Co), Hayden Mains (Rowan Co).

Honorable Mention: Evan Oakley (Marshall Co), Harrison Bowman (Apollo), Bryce Estes (Elizabethtown), Ethan Elmore (Louisville Eastern), Brady Hockensmith (Franklin Co), Addison Stockham (Sayre), Silas Schaffer (Rockcastle Co), Sam Harp ( Whitley Co), Max Johnson (Hazard), Ashton Deskins (Belfry)


Comments are closed.