Regional students rewarded for their AP exam results | New


Almost 100 students from the region were recognized for their outstanding performance on the College Board’s Advanced Placement exams held in May.

AP exams are rated on a scale of 1 to 5.

According to the College Board, which administers the exams, AP Fellows with Distinction are students who achieve an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and a mark of 3 or higher on five or more exams; AP Honorary Fellows are students who achieve an average mark of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and a mark of 3 or more on four or more of those exams; and AP National Fellows are students who score 3 or more on three or more AP exams.

Daviess County Public Schools had 71 students recognized for their exam achievement, while Owensboro Public Schools had nine, Owensboro Catholic Schools had seven, and Ohio County Schools had four. . Hancock County High School, Trinity High School, and Muhlenberg County High School had no AP awards to report.

The students at Apollo High School who received the Scholar with Distinction Award were Nathaniel Payne, Braxton Powers and Catherine Wright.

The Daviess County High School students who received the Scholar with Distinction Award were Jenna Barrow, Philip Caldbeck, Christopher Diaz, Savannah Dowell, Hannah Forrest, Harold Fuchs, Daniel Martin, Hope Ramming, Benjamin Robinson, Isabella Sailors, Maci Sanders, Chloe Sims, Sam Smith, Kylie Strehl, Luke Taylor, Emmylou Tidwell, Katherine Wahnsiedler and Jenna Waltrip.

Neil Hayden, guidance counselor at Daviess County High School, said that while there are multiple opportunities for students to earn college credit while in high school, AP courses are unique in that sense. that they are taught in-house.

“All of our AP courses are taught in the building by DCPS teachers, he said. “We feel like the PA gives these kids a pretty glamorous mark, and the fact that they are doing well in the classroom here with our teachers and, comparatively, being tested well on the national exams, says a lot. on the students and educators involved. “

Ella Bratcher and Dylan Mather also earned AP Fellows with Distinction from Owensboro Public Schools; from Owensboro Catholic High School: Max W. Kurtz and Emma C. Silvert; from Ohio County High School: Kenedi Ashburn.

Sarah Brown, Owensboro High School instructional coach, said AP courses and exams provide college credit opportunities for students, and are also “honorable additions to resumes or to the application of a student “.

“Students who push themselves to this level are better prepared for college by developing intensive study skills, self-discipline, organization and time management, and a growth mindset,” said Brown. “Being enrolled in an AP course challenges a student to access a college education, but being and succeeding in multiple is a new level of challenge. “

The students who received the AP Scholar with Honor were, from Apollo: Evan Hagan, Emma Ladnier, Isabella Riedell, Hannah Roberts and Lilliana Ocasio; from Daviess County: David Abel, Campbell Clark, Mason Ebelhar, Daniel Flick, Nika Harrington, Matthew Hendrix, Garrett Howard, Katie Mewes, Loriana Phillips, Lily Robbins, James Tidwell, Kinsey Vergason and Margaret Vooris; from Owensboro: Joséphine Gesser and Lila Jones.

The students who received AP Scholars honors were, from Apollo: Harrison Dillbeck, Arianna Hayden, Brianna Johnson, Emma Millay, Noelle Shelton and Madison Westerfield; from Daviess County: Daniel Barrow, Irina Boarman, Hannah Boehman, Ross Boultinghouse, Camden Clark, James Crews, Lydia Dobbs, Emery Fergason, Mary Gainer, Logan Gish, Joshua Harwood, Emma Haynes, Holly Holton, Carter Howard, Jacob Jones, Hakeem Kalik, Taryn Lanham, Leigha Mattingly, Hallie Mayfield, Mary Nash, Elizabeth Newcomb, Noah Norris, Yash Patel, Chloe Richardson, Megan Sutherland and Maggie Stuart; from Owensboro: DeLaney Brown, Mia Covington, Camille Divine, Kara Luckett and Ava Reeves; from Owensboro Catholic: Joseph E. Fusco, Thomas Gonzalez, Robert B. Hayden, Luke M. Payne, and Jansen L. Tipmore; and from Ohio County: Taylor Dayman, Bryce Shirley and Emily Sisk.

Keith Osborne, executive director of Owensboro Catholic Schools, said the AP courses and exams give students confidence in their abilities as they prepare to take another important step in their educational process.

“Students can benefit from (AP exams) in a variety of ways, ranging from increased confidence to getting more scholarships to continue their education,” he said.

Calls and messages to McLean County High School were not returned in time for this report.

Source link


Comments are closed.