Some local election boards move early voting centers after primary delay

Getty Images.

With the primary election postponed to July 19, some local election committees have had to revamp early voting centers in their jurisdiction — and the State Board of Elections gave approval to new early voting locations in several counties this week.

Anne Arundel County replaced five early voting centers for the primary election only. County officials designated the “nearest available schools” to replace four libraries and the Pip Moyer Recreation Center due to summer activities. Pip Moyer Recreation Center will be replaced by Annapolis Middle School; Edgewater Community Center will be replaced by Central Middle School; Crofton Community Library will be replaced by Crofton Secondary School; Odenton Regional Library will be replaced by Arundel Middle School; and the Severna Park Community Library will be replaced by Magothy River Middle School.

Baltimore County replaced five early voting centers for the primary election.

The following location changes will be open: Woodlawn High School will replace Woodlawn Community Center; Franklin High School will replace Reisterstown Senior Center; Dundalk High School will replace Sollers Point Multi-Purpose Centre; Perry Hall High School replaces the Honeygo Community Center; and the Carver Center for the Arts will replace Towson University.

Carolina County will replace the James F. Fretterd Community Center with the Caroline County Board of Elections Office, located in the County Health and Utilities Building, for primary and general elections.

Cecil County replaces Cecil Arena with Calvert Elementary for primary only.

Charles County replaces St. Joseph’s Hall with St. Joseph’s Activity Center for elementary school only. Both are located at St. Joseph’s Catholic Church.

Frederick County will replace an early voting center, the Frederick Senior Center, with the Trinity Recreation Center, for both elections.

Harford County will replace Jarrettsville Fire Hall with Jarrettsville Elementary School for elementary school only.

Howard County replaces its five early voting centers for the primary election. The new early voting centers will be Howard High School, Long Reach High School, Marriotts Ridge High School, Reservoir High School and Wilde Lake High School.

Worcester County previously planned to hold early voting at the Roland E. Powell Convention Center in Ocean City, but moved that sole center inland to Worcester Preparatory School for the primary election only due to traffic issues.

State election officials also gave conditional approval to an early change in polling center in Prince George’s County for the primary election. If the Prince George’s County Board of Elections gives final approval to the change, Accokeek Academy will replace Accokeek VFW as the early voting center for the primary election.

An overview of the anticipated changes to the voting center, along with maps and addresses, can be found online here.


Comments are closed.